Author Topic: iGRID - Two devices required?  (Read 6845 times)

russp

iGRID - Two devices required?
« on: June 02, 2022, 06:48:03 pm »
Just picked up the email about the new software and iGRID and one thing isn't clear .. do we actually need two devices now, one with our EFB on it and another separate one to provide the hotspot for the iGRID? It kinda implies that the same device cant be used for both but doesn't seem to be actually stated.

Dave jones

Re: iGRID - Two devices required?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2022, 08:39:20 pm »
I believe you need a cellular phone to provide a hotspot to link to your iPad. The phone can be left anywhere in the aircraft as long you have a signal. Correct me me if I’m wrong. I’m no expert.

steveu

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2022, 09:15:07 pm »
You can do it with one device, but it's involved.  With the most recent iPhones and some Android phones, the phone can be a mobile hotspot (so provide Internet) and join the wireless network that the PAW is on.

It's a little tricky and the sequence in which things are done is important.

As I have an old Huawei MiFi, I have used that to provide the PAW with Internet connectivity and simply connected all the other devices to the PAW WiFi, the PAW will act as a router and allow all the devices on its WiFi network to see the Internet.

So, PAW connected to Huawei MiFi running cheapie GiffGaff PAYG SIM, tablets running SD connected to PAW but seeing Internet. Job done. £8/month for cheapie SIM.

HTH

PaulSS

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2022, 09:51:15 am »
...the PAW will act as a router and allow all the devices on its WiFi network to see the Internet.

In my mind this has been an extremely useful 'by product' of the development.  I use my iPhone's hotspot to connect to the PAW. My iPad is connected to the PAW WIFI (as usual) and, hey presto, my SkyDemon now has Internet for winds, updated NOTAMs etc without having to have a sim card installed in it. Particularly useful if you have a WIFI only iPad  :)