Author Topic: Change PAW to join a network rather than act as a hotspot  (Read 8806 times)

gwyn_carwardine

Change PAW to join a network rather than act as a hotspot
« on: April 12, 2017, 12:10:19 pm »
Just got my PAW and got it up and running and my only complaint is that I want to join an existing Wifi network rather than hosting an access point.

I guess it must be possible to change the OS files to configure the WiFi to join an existing SSID, possibly with a static IP?

What I don't know though is how SkyDemon would locate it as we don't give it any IP details. Presumably related to the 6000 we type into SD configuration?

Why do I want to do this? 1. I want to be able to connect the PAW to an existing network on the ground (use as ground station) and 2. In the air I want my phone/tablet connected to the Internet as well as PAW.

I even have a 4G router that I would keep under the bonnet purely to establish local internet hotspot within the plane.

I work in IT with lots of OS & programming experience so I only need a few pointers.

Cheers

Admin

Re: Change PAW to join a network rather than act as a hotspot
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2017, 03:25:33 pm »
Hi
The WiFi is only configured to run as a SoftAP (Access Point)

but of course there is a wired connection as well, you can connect this to your ethernet port and I would recommend configuring for dynamic IP Address.
Then go look at your router for the allocated IP.

From your network you can then (for example) pickup the Flarm messages intended for the NAV Device
$ telnet <ip-address> 2000

thx
Lee

gwyn_carwardine

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2017, 06:13:18 pm »
The Wifi configuration can be presumably changed though by going into the Pi and changing it? It's a WiFi dongle so it should be capable or hosting or joining a network and not running an access point and DHCP server.