Author Topic: Power Experiment  (Read 7111 times)

ryanheathheli

Power Experiment
« on: January 17, 2019, 10:53:06 pm »
So I just got an Anker PowerCore 10000mAh pack to power my PilotAware Rosetta

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B072MH1434/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00__o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Obviously I was interested to know how long this would power the device for so, being a programmer by trade, I wrote a little bash script to ping the PilotAware IP every 10 seconds and report when it was no longer available. I though people might be interested in my findings.

First off, reliability.. This was pretty impressive. All in all, the device was unavailable on 8 occasions over the entire test. On all of these occasions it only missed one ping, so I doubt it was actually unavailable (if it had gone down, it would have taken longer than 10 seconds to come back up), so I assume that it just took longer than the permitted 5 seconds to respond on these occasions, or (and I cannot stress this enough), it was some other factor of my test other than the PilotAware!

But, the main event.. how long did it last? Well, from a completely full charge on the 10000mAh battery to completely dying, it was....

10 HOURS, 54 MINUTES and 34 SECONDS!

I'm more than happy with that result, not only will it last for a full day of flying, for my typical use, I most likely won't even need to turn it off between flights, I can just leave it running all day!

I chose the PowerCore 10000 because of it's size, at 6cm wide and 9.2cm tall it matches the size of PAW perfectly so the fact it lasts this long is great. I'd be interested to see if it makes any difference actually using it in the air when it's sending and receiving more transmissions, but I can't imagine it will..

Ian Melville

Re: Power Experiment
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 11:17:04 pm »