Author Topic: GPS dropping out on new Rosetta  (Read 6563 times)

carlbfinch

GPS dropping out on new Rosetta
« on: May 30, 2018, 03:13:02 pm »
Hi All,

I am brand new to this and this afternoon been playing with my new Rosetta which I am really pleased with.

The only this that is causing issues at the minute is the constant dropping out of GPS and only managing to find 3-4 to connect to.  I have done everything in in accordance with the set up leaflet and just can not work out if its me or the unit??

Any help is appreciated.

Carl

Admin

Re: GPS dropping out on new Rosetta
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2018, 04:48:14 pm »
Hi Carl

Can I ask where is the unit located ?
Also what is your power supply ?

You will not get a good GPS fix indoors, and especially behind glass - a lot of which has a metal coating

Can you confirm the specific symptom, because there are 2 similar scenarios
I presume you are using SkyDemon ?

Do you get a disconnect in Skydemon, then have to reconnect to PilotAware,
or do you get a banner reporting "GPS satellites ...", which then subsequently goes away ?

when you mention '3-4 to connect to', if this is the message on the PilotAware Homepage, this is actually reporting number of Satellites in use, not the number of Satellites in view.
This will change in the next release to report Satellites in view and in use.

Thx
Lee

carlbfinch

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2018, 05:10:54 pm »
Lee,

Thank you for getting back to me.

I set up the device outside as recommended and once I did that I brought it in to try out and did have it on the window sill.  I have used the USB cable that came with the device and it was plugged in to an extension lead with USB charging facility.

Yes I am using Sky Demon and the message that I receive is 'Loss of GPS' and then Satellites found 3 found and it works again, then it like that whilst I use it.

Strange that sitting up against the window does this when my SkyPro doesn't?

Regards,

Carl

Admin