Author Topic: trig mode s  (Read 3849 times)

yateshan

trig mode s
« on: July 23, 2017, 08:41:36 pm »
hi i am new to pilot aware i am finding it very good
i have a problem with it not picking up anything from trig transponders
it is picking up in tracking c s a but not the trigs that are on our airfield.
my friend has pilot aware and he can not pick up trig transponders ether
any ideas
ed 

exfirepro

Re: trig mode s
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2017, 09:07:13 pm »
Hi ed,

I run a Trig Transponder myself and having done most of the testing for PilotAware Mode S and C, I can assure you that PilotAware does not discriminate against Trig (or any other transponder). 'CSA' in the Traffic Screen - which I take it you are referring to - means that it is an ADSB aircraft, not a simple Mode C or Mode S.

There are three possible issues here. First check that you have 'Mode C/S Select' enabled (and saved) on the PilotAware Configure Screen. It is disabled by default to let you get used to the system first. You need to set Mode C/S Select to 'Mode CS + Filter (Beta)' if you are running a transponder in your aircraft and also set the Mode CS Detect 'Range' to Medium or Short Range - Medium is best until you confirm you are seeing transponders, but for testing you could run it on Long Range. You also need to make sure you have Mode C/S Separation set wide enough. Remember to save the changes to ensure they take effect.

Next, make sure you have your Navigation System set to accept 'Bearingless Targets' - in SkyDemon for example, this is in 'SkyDemon/Settings/Connectivity Options', near the bottom of the list.

Finally make sure the correct ICAO Hex Address for your aircraft has been set in both your Transponder and your PilotAware or you will get false alerts from your own aircraft.

Hope this helps. Please let me know how you get on.

Regards

Peter

yateshan

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2017, 07:47:02 am »
thank you peter
i will chx all setting and report back
ed

AlanG