British Forum > General Discussion

Enhancement Requests

(1/84) > >>

Admin:
First Posting

chrismills:
Hi Lee.
House move completed. Ready to have a go at writing Android version of app. Have ordered kit of parts which should all be here this week.  Any documentation or tips on where to start, source code etc that I could get started with?
BW Chris Mills

Shortwing:
I may be able to assist with an android app - I have some experience.  If you need any assistance chrismills shout

Admin:
Excellent!

Where to start - I have no idea, I have never done any android development  :o
I do have a wealth of experience on Linux, and of course Android is built on Linux.

Let me give a brief overview.

The CollisionAware App does nothing more than connect to a listening posix socket on PilotAware,
then it streams the Location services information through the socket connection.
in essence - thats it!

So I would start by investigating :-
1. How to access location services on Android
2. Socket Comms on Android

I would hope (2) is Linux/Posix compliant, in which case we can just lift the code straight from the
IOS Application.

We could probably take most of this info offline through direct email, but let me start by saying this is
what the code in the IOS callback thread looks like for grabbing the location data.

--- Quote ---gps.f32lat    = (Float32) (currentLocation.coordinate.latitude);
gps.f32lon    = (Float32) (currentLocation.coordinate.longitude);
gps.i32altmtr = (int32_t) (currentLocation.altitude);
gps.course    = (int32_t) (currentLocation.course);
gps.speedms   = (int32_t) (currentLocation.speed);

// convert Metres to feet
gps.i32altft  = gps.i32altmtr * METRES_TO_FEET;
gps.speedkns  = gps.speedms * MS_TO_KNOTS;
--- End quote ---

Hopefully location services data in Android is all in the same format - but may not be the case.

so as you can see from above I grab the data into a structure, and then this is sent over the posix socket,