Author Topic: Wifi fails to initialise on boot up (but does with the correct wifi dongle!)  (Read 10278 times)

PaulB

I've tried to set up PA this morning but the wifi dongle fails to initiate.  As far as I'm aware it's on the recommended list.  It's this one and it works with Noobs. 

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/wireless-adapters/7603621/?searchTerm=760-3621

To add to the issue, the SD card is write protected so I can't even re-format and start again (to complicate matters, I'm on a Mac here.)

The error I see is this (I tried booting with a monitor)

"starting advanced IEEE 802.11management : HostAPDsegmentation fault" That's wifi isn't it?

As I said, the wifi dongle works with Noobs.

[Problem solved so edited title!]

There's also a warning about kernel lacking Cgroups.

Any pointers....

« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 07:57:54 pm by PaulB »

colinmackenzie

Re: Wifi fails to initialise on boot up
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 02:26:01 pm »
Hi Paul,

I'm no PAW expert but...

Does the WiFi dongle use the recommended chipset RT5370?

Like the one available here: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231483794170?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

The SD card adapter should have a little slider on it that allows the card to be toggled between read/write.
If its the SD Formatter software telling you that it is write protected...don't believe it! I have found that re-inserting the card sorts that out. Remember to use the context menu to 'eject' the card if that is the case. Oops saw you are using a Mac...my experience is limited to Windows 10, but maybe, just maybe this might help!

Cheers,
Colin

PaulB

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 02:41:32 pm »
I've no idea what chipset it uses, but thought I'd selected it from the known good hardware list on here.  It certainly works with NOOBs.  Perhaps that's where I've gone wrong ad I will have ordinarily avoided eBay.