Author Topic: RV Installation  (Read 2444 times)

shineymoh

RV Installation
« on: September 28, 2020, 06:41:13 pm »
Hi, I'm new here so first thing is to say "hello" !

Has anyone installed the Internal Antenna Installation Kit in a RV?  It's been suggested that the Coax Antennas are fitted to the floor underneath the seating or rear baggage floor, but before I go ahead, it would be great if anyone had any suggestions  or alternatives.

Many thanks
Martin

Young_C

Re: RV Installation
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2020, 08:19:49 pm »
Hi Martin,
Welcome to the forum. There is a separate thread on RV installations, see link below:

http://forum.pilotaware.com/index.php/topic,1167.0.html

I've posted some details of our recent RV-7 installation, which has external antennas. I have no experience of internal antennas so perhaps another member could advise.

Good luck  :)
Chris.

exfirepro

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2020, 10:44:55 pm »
Hi Martin,

I have a couple of friends who run PilotAware in RVs with the unit in the space behind the dash and internal antennas attached either side of the canopy, but much better results are generally achieved with external antennas mounted beneath the fuselage.

Just be careful to emsure adequate spacing from other (e.g. transponder) antennas and to ensure they aren’t fitted where they are obscured by for example undercarriage legs.

Lots of advice on the thread recommended by Chris.

Best Regards

Peter

shineymoh

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2020, 07:58:44 am »
Thanks Chris and Peter for your help, I'll take a read through the thread.

Regards
Martin

shineymoh

« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2020, 08:08:29 am »
Guys, after reading some of the RV Info, I'm not sure I have purchased the best option. I have bought the internal antennas, but looks like I should have purchased the external ones, what are your thoughts?

Thanks
Martin

PaulSS

« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2020, 08:16:52 am »