Author Topic: Newbie questions about GPS mouse & Rosetta power draw.  (Read 2247 times)

Young_C

Newbie questions about GPS mouse & Rosetta power draw.
« on: June 14, 2020, 08:23:38 am »
Hi All,
I'm a Newbie who has received the Rosetta unit and awaiting the installation kit for permanent installation into my RV-7.

I have a couple of questions while I'm planning my installation:
1. Can the USB lead for the GPS mouse be removed in order to drill a small hole in the coaming to pass it through? I would prefer not to drill a large hole for the whole male USB plug. Also I would prefer not to cut and rejoin the lead.
2. In my RV-7 there is a 12V cigarette lighter socket wired to a 10A CB but this is energized with the Battery Master switch and I would prefer the Rosetta to power up with the Avionics Master switch. So I'm planning to wire a new cigarette lighter socket to a 5A CB shared with my Garmin GMA240 audio panel which has a max rating of 7.5W / 540mA @ 13.8V. The PAW info says that the socket needs to be able to supply 5.2V, 2.1A, so on the face of it I should be OK with this plan? Does anyone have any further details on power draw nominal / max for the Rosetta unit?

Apologies if these questions have been already covered.

BTW I have published an unboxing & initial setup video for the Rosetta, see link below.

https://youtu.be/KQMGf6PpbXE

Best Regards,
Chris.

JCurtis

Re: Newbie questions about GPS mouse & Rosetta power draw.
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2020, 11:40:22 am »
To take the power question first, a 5A breaker for both the audio panel and Cig socket is fine power wise as long as you only power the Rosetta from it. Though I’d keep the cig socket on its own breaker. If anything you plug into that has a fault, it will kill your audio panel too. Which may impact your ability to talk to people.