Author Topic: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users  (Read 1001 times)

Vince

Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« on: April 06, 2019, 01:21:44 pm »
I have configured some users and setting in VRS and have these settings surviving a reboot but they get overwritten on a software update with defaults.

I currently port forward from my firewall to the pi's vrs port so rely on the users to limit who can access vrs from the Internet and the upgrade breaks this leaving it open to anyone.

The update script backs up & restores VirtualRadar.org/Configuration.xml but not the Users.sqb files
Sign up to Stranded Flyer to assist your fellow aviators in those difficult situations.

www.strandedflyer.net

Wildpig

Re: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2021, 01:10:51 pm »
Hello dear forum users.
is there a plausible reason why this is being done?
I find it very annoying to re-enter my user settings on VRS every day. :-\


Admin

Re: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2021, 06:31:13 pm »
Hi All,

We are looking at how to easily backup / restore the Users.sqb data, so that it does not get reset during an update.
What we are trying to ensure more than anything is that we don't end up with a corrupted install

Thx
Lee

Admin

Re: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2021, 12:12:26 pm »
Fix to this will be pushed out shortly

thx
Lee

Admin

Re: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2021, 07:52:36 pm »
A fix has been pushed out this evening
this will cache the user settings in future, and will retain following an update

Thx
Lee

PaulSS

Re: Upgrade overwriting custom vrs settings and users
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2021, 08:25:46 am »
That's better  :)