Author Topic: New ground station  (Read 5173 times)

peter.seddon

New ground station
« on: August 23, 2018, 12:21:04 pm »
Hi all.
I've now upgraded my OGN receiver at Morecambe to PAW (Cheers Keith for the hardware)
Being new to this, I'm a glider pilot, how do I know it's working. OGN has spot the gliders which shows on line receivers,
is there anything similar for PAW ground stations. Also I'm reading about licenses, do ground stations need one?
All help gratefully received.
Peter S
G-DDLA

exfirepro

Re: New ground station
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2018, 01:33:39 pm »
Hi Peter,

I’m a member of the PIlotAware Engineering Team and run PWBalerno from my home in West Edinburgh.

No licence needed for your OGN-R station as it’s a safety service to the flying community.

You can normally view your station coverage using OGN Range http://www.ognrange.onglide.com This is the best for checking coverage as the maps build up over time and are selectable to for example ‘today’, ‘last 7 days’, etc. but they are having a bit of a problem at the moment due to Google Maps new pricing policy. It will hopefully come back on line shortly.

You can see ‘live’ coverage using www.glidertracker.org - very useful once you get it set up to your local site.

Grafana www.grafana.glidernet.org is also useful for background data, but it only updates once every 24hrs (usually during the night).

You can also see current data by logging in to your local host pages http://ognpaw.local.8080  8081 or 8082 , (though with mine I have to log in via my router 192.168.0.x.8080 etc). One of the pages has a link near the bottom to a live data file (I’d need to log in to check which and I’m not at home at present).

Keep us posted on progress.

Best Regards

Peter

peter.seddon

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2018, 02:08:28 pm »
Hi Peter
I get the usual data from 8080 and 8081 for flarm and 8082 reports the following so I assume it will send and receive data as the service is running.