Author Topic: Rosetta mounting - C172  (Read 3012 times)

CruiseAttitude

Rosetta mounting - C172
« on: June 20, 2019, 11:21:04 am »
Hello,

Hoping I can get some advice on the best (non-permanent) location to mount the PAW Rosetta in a Cessna 172. I am new to PAW and so far have been mounting the unit on the starboard side rear window using this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0725H9JY4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When mounted the unit is horizontal/right way up (as it would be when sitting on a desk) up against the window, i.e. sucker to the side of the unit. I have tried to position the unit as far to the rear of the window as possible so as to reduce the impact of the high wing affecting GPS signal reception.

However, when looking over a recent track log in SkyDemon, I am presented with a message saying that the track log contains gaps in recording of up to 41 secs. I did not notice any GPS drop outs in flight however.

Any advice/tips would be appreciated.

Thank you.

NB: Unit is mounted on the rear side window rather than the back wrap around window.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2019, 11:30:59 am by CruiseAttitude »

Cottie

Re: Rosetta mounting - C172
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2019, 12:10:50 pm »
Hi,

We have ours mounted at the top of the front windshield, although it tends to be in the aircraft permanently.  We have a wire tucked into the plastic around the windshield, and then into the lighter socket, although I prefer to run it off a battery so I can set up Skydemon before turning the master on.

I am down at the airfield on Saturday and can get some pictures then.
Iain
PWLymm

CruiseAttitude

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2019, 03:00:51 pm »
I am down at the airfield on Saturday and can get some pictures then.

Thank you, that would be appreciated.

exfirepro

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2019, 10:21:25 pm »
Hi,