Author Topic: Filtering other aircraft  (Read 4167 times)

mick moulton

Filtering other aircraft
« on: September 28, 2017, 09:54:56 am »
I have been using PAW for just over 12 months, I run skydemon on an Android tablet, I am very please with the functionality and reliability of the GPS over the location services.
Using the filter to ignore my own transponder is fine, I wondered would it be possible to extend the filters to exclude several aircraft? I regularly with a group of others, continuously getting traffic warnings about each can get confusing.

Cheers,

Mick.   

Admin

Re: Filtering other aircraft
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 10:07:00 am »
Hi Mick

urgh, I hate to admit it, but this is a request we are hearing more now  :-\
Especially for use during flyouts / travelling groups.

I am thinking about the best way to do this, and I am guessing it is something like a list of ICAO codes, so possibly an ignore list in the configure page which is comma separated, something like :-

4001AF,404452,4055AD

Should there be a maximum, I am thinking 10 would be enough ?

Just to confirm, we are only talking about the audio messages right ?

Thx
Lee

exfirepro

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2017, 11:30:49 am »
Mick,

Good timing! I had just raised an issue with Lee over in the Engineering Forum which directly reflects on what you are asking for.

My view would certainly be to filter audio only as when flying in a group, we still need to see each other on screen in case we get separated e.g. by cloud or reducing visibility.

Regards

Peter

Ian Melville

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2017, 12:31:42 pm »
How about inhibiting audio when a group name is set other that default. I.e #MotleyMob#

That way no faffing around with ICAO codes.

Would an aircraft in close formation constantly be triggering visual alerts?

exfirepro

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2017, 12:48:23 pm »
Hi Ian,